LCS Project Environment Planning - Locus IT Services

LCS Project Environment Planning

Locus IT ServicesMicrosoft Life Cycle ServicesLCS Project Environment Planning

LCS Project Environment Planning

This article provides an overview of various aspects that you must consider while performing LCS Project Environment Planning. You must use Microsoft Dynamics Life Cycle Services (LCS) to deploy and update an instance of Microsoft Dynamics 365 for Finance and Operations. To begin, here are a few important concepts:

  • Environment purpose – Reasons why the environment exists. Examples include the development, system testing, user acceptance testing (UAT), and operations.
  • Environment topology – The composition of the environment and purpose. Examples include Develop and Build and Test for the Tier-1 environments.
  • Environment tier – Type or category of the environment. Examples include Tier-1 environments and Tier-2 environments.

The on-premises Microsoft Dynamics Lifecycle Services Project Environment Planning has all the tools that you require in order to implement, maintain, and operate an on-premises solution. Here are some of the tools that are available in the on-premises LCS Project Environment Planning:

  • Methodology
  • Business process modeler
  • Cloud-hosted environments
  • Code upgrade
  • Issue search
  • Localization and translation
  • Support
  • Project users
  • Project settings
  • Asset library
  • SharePoint online library

LCS Project Environment Planning Types

You can use the following environment types for your LCS Project Environment Planning:

  • Standard – Standard environment is included in the standard offer and is managed by Microsoft in a Microsoft subscription. The Standard environments include the production environment, a Tier-2 Standard Acceptance Test environment, and one Tier-1 develop and test environment.
  • Add-on – The add-on environments are in a Microsoft-managed subscription that the customer has purchased in addition to the standard offer. For example, an add-on environment might be a additional Tier-4 environment for performance testing.
  • Cloud-hosted – These environments are additional environments that are managed by the customer or partner in a customer or partner Microsoft Azure subscription. A cloud-hosted environment includes a Tier-1 demo environment.
  • Environment image (VHD) – These additional Tier-1 environments are hosted on-premises by using a virtual hard disk (VHD) that can be downloaded from the Microsoft Dynamics Lifecycle Services (LCS).

Finance and Operations Standard Cloud Offer

Each Finance and Operations standard cloud offer includes the following three environments:

  • Tier-1 environment : Develop and test – One develop or test instance is provided for the duration of the subscription. This instance is a non-production single-box instance that the customer can use as an automated build environment, or to customize Finance and Operations and do unit testing for the changes.
  • Tier-2 environment : Standard Acceptance Testing – One Standard Acceptance Testing instance is provided for the duration of the subscription. This instance is a non-production multi-box instance that customers can use for UAT, integration testing, and training.
  • Production environment – One production instance is given for each tenant. The production multi-box instance includes disaster recovery and high availability. It will be provisioned when the implementation approaches the Operate phase, after the required activities in the Microsoft Dynamics Lifecycle Services (LCS) methodology and a successful go-live assessment are completed.

Production System Readiness

The production environment can be deployed when the LCS Project Environment Planning is ready for the initial go-live. Production system readiness includes, but isn’t limited to, the following conditions:

  • An up-to-date subscription estimate is activated.
  • Code, configuration, and data are ready for cut-over.
  • An engineering process is in place to manage the critical fixes.
  • The customer has signed off on the solution and the UAT.
  • A cut-over plan is in place.

Deployment considerations for development environments

For development environments, there are three deployment options:

  • Standard or add-on – The environments are managed by Microsoft in the Microsoft subscription.
  • Cloud-hosted – The environments are managed by the customer or partner in a customer or partner Azure subscription.
  • Environment image (downloadable VHD) – These environments are hosted on-premises.

Environments Plan

Create the environments plan early in your implementation.

  • Identify the Microsoft Dynamics Lifecycle Services Project Environment Planning activities that require an environment. These activities include, but aren’t limited to, development of customization’s and maintenance of golden configuration data.
  • Determine the activities life cycle to determine the environments life cycle.
  • Determine the type and the topology of the required environments.
  • Summarize the list of the required environments in a matrix.

After identifying the environments, the environments plan can be used to structure the Application Lifecycle Management (ALM) flows. For example, after you finalize your environments plan, you can define the flows for building and moving the code and the data across environments.

Locus IT has a thorough knowledge of some of the well-known industries and the particular challenges that exist in that industry. We at Locus IT provide Microsoft Dynamics LCS support, Microsoft Dynamics LCS upgradation and Microsoft Dynamics LCS migration and can help you design a solution using proven tools that meet your specific needs, operations, streamlining, and increasing profit.

Locus IT Project Management Office
What’s it?